Semana Santa in La Villa de Los Santos, Panama

This is the very first time in my life, of my own volition, that I spent four days – in a row – in a Catholic Church! Never before, not likely again and I’ve got the photos to show for it. Whatever we think of the Catholic Church, their antiquated, misogynist and homophobic views, they know how to do ritual up in a big way! And while I didn’t see hide nor hair of Mary Magdalene and certainly not Lilith, I did hear mention of MM one day as the priest was speaking. I don’t know what he was saying about her, but we know who she was, how important she was and the role she played with Jesus, who just so happens to have been a pretty cool guy. But this post is not about the scourges of the Catholic Church – we all know all about of that.

I’ll let the photos speak for themselves and say how very grateful I am that I got to witness this ancient ritual amongst this small, welcoming village of Los Santos!

And a postscript that’s not really a postscript at all. To you, MK, for all those years ago and still today, how you help me to make the translations, recognize the myths within the rituals and that death, rebirth and renewal belongs to all of us. I’m not sure I could have made that leap without your firm determination that I would do so!

This entry was posted in Panama. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

