Writer Residencies Programs

Here's a sample of some of what I've been up to, from the Write Your Life workshop with the amazing Ann Randolph (she's the 3rd from the right) and my compadres.

Yep, it’s true, I’ve been away from this here blog for quite a long time. No, I haven’t quite forgotten about it, but life has been extra busy and demanding of my attention lately.

Now I’ve moved, settled in to my new place, if only temporarily (isn’t everything?!) and I’m ready to focus on this next chapter of my life. Here’s some of what’s cooking:

I’m in the midst of applying to Writer Residency programs across the country – they are extraordinary programs where I can live and spend all my time writing, writing, writing. It’s what I want to do right now, along with so many other things, like traveling and singing and getting my website up and running so I can spread the word about workshops and counseling I want to be doing. There aren’t enough hours in the day to do all that I want to do, which also includes plenty of just ‘being’ and not ‘doing’ anything!

Here comes the point of my blog post today. The residency applications are quite extensive and I need to submit about 20 pages of samples of my writing. I imagine I’ll take some posts from here and some from recent workshops I’ve attended with Ann Randolph.

I’m asking you to weigh in and give me your input on what you think some of my “best” writing has been here. No need to spend a lot of time on this; but if you think of a post that you particularly liked or one in which you thought the writing was particularly outstanding, I’d love to hear about that! I’ll be going through pages and pages of my writing to pick out what I think is the best, but I know that feedback from others can be so valuable in this process. If you are so inclined to give me some, I’d be very appreciative for it!

Once my applications are complete and I’ve got my website up and running, I’ll be back here posting, I swear I will! Stay tuned and thanks for reading.

With a grateful heart …

This entry was posted in Back in Puna. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writer Residencies Programs

  1. James says:

    Hi, Christina dear,
    It was so good to see you and have you share in the ohana get together last night at Linnet’s…I wish you could’ve enjoyed the wonderful thai soup and sushi we all made together!
    Now, to answer your question, one of my very favorite entries in your blog was “Life is What Happens …” written while you were in Lao, I believe…I like it so much because it’s so personal, revealing, and beautiful. Thanks again for sharing it, and good luck with your residency applications! Much, much love,
    James

    • Christina says:

      Hey Darlin’!
      YES, loved ‘seeing’ and talking and singing with you all, too – I love technology for these kinds of things!
      And YES again – I pulled that same post out of all the blog entries too as one of the ones to possibly include, so I’m glad to get your feedback – thanks so much! Interestingly, much of what I’m choosing is coming from the Writing Workshops, but not so much from the blog. I have a lot of work to do as I’ve come up with 100+ pages of writing to sift through and I can only submit about 20 pages! Okay, back to it!
      Much love!!! xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

