Reminders …

I’m in kind of a down, low mood. It’s been with me for a few days and while I’ve tried to ‘ignore’ it, I’m reminded that that never really works. (So how many more reminders do I need of that, exactly?!) So now I’m just being with it, letting go of needing to understand it or wanting it to be different (oohh, that latter one is the big challenge!), recognizing my ‘work’ is just to be and embrace and trust … but still, I couldn’t resist looking for the slightest encouragement and reminders of what it is that I love about being out here, especially when I’m not feeling like I love being out here! So out of the few hundred that I’ve read this morning, here’s a sampling of some travel quotes that do indeed remind me of what I’m doing out here! More to come in my own words, too! Which are your favorites? Do you have some to add to this list?

Reminders for the Journey

“I soon realized that no journey carries one far unless, as it extends into the world around us, it goes an equal distance into the world within.”  ~ Lillian Smith

“To travel is to discover that everyone is wrong about other countries.”  ~ Aldous Huxley

“The whole object of travel is not to set foot on foreign land; it is at last to set foot on one’s own country as a foreign land.”   ~ G. K. Chesterson

“Adventure is a path. Real adventure – self-determined, self-motivated, often risky – forces you to have firsthand encounters with the world. The world the way it is, not the way you imagine it. Your body will collide with the earth and you will bear witness. In this way you will be compelled to grapple with the limitless kindness and bottomless cruelty of humankind – and perhaps realize that you yourself are capable of both. This will change you. Nothing will ever again be black-and-white.”  ~ Mark Jenkins

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” ~ Marcel Proust

“I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train.”   ~ Oscar Wilde

“I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.” ~ Susan Sontag

“A child on a farm sees a plane fly overhead and dreams of a faraway place. A traveler on the plane sees the farmhouse… and thinks of home.”  ~ Carl Burns

“Most of my treasured memories of travel are recollections of sitting.”  ~ Robert Thomas Allen

“I am not the same having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world.”  ~ Mary Anne Radmacher Hershey

“Perhaps travel cannot prevent bigotry, but by demonstrating that all peoples cry, laugh, eat, worry, and die, it can introduce the idea that if we try and understand each other, we may even become friends.” ~ Maya Angelou

Own only what you can carry with you; know language, know countries, know people. Let your memory be your travel bag.~ Alexander Solzhenitsyn

The Journey is my home. ~ Muriel Rukeyser

The goal of each civilization, all religious thought, all that sort of thing, is simply to have a good time. But humans get so solemn over the process that we forget the end. ~ Don Marquis

The true traveler is she who goes on foot, and even then, she sits down a lot of the time.  ~ Colette

This entry was posted in Poetry / Inspiration, Thailand. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reminders …

  1. Bear says:

    I think I like the first and last the best………………..Lillian and Colette………………..and one of my personal favorites “The Journey is the destination” ……………….sorry to hear you’re feelin’ blue, I am too……… after 12 days of sublime bliss on Maui and at Sufi Camp, I’m as blue as I can remember being…………I keep thinking there’s a lesson here, but then I wonder………… is there always a lesson, or does the tide simply go out sometimes?????It does help me some to know that the tide will surely come back in……….for both of us……….. love, love, ,love……. Bare

    • Christina says:

      I agree, fuck the lessons!! I think it’s just the tide doing what the tide does. And we can have our ‘preferences’ all we want, but still, it will go out … and then it will come back … and then it will go out again.

      Just sharing these simple words with you over cyberspace helps to lift my spirits and remind me that I’m more connected than I sometimes feel out here … thanks for being there and here and everywhere! We are one, after all!

      LoveLoveLove indeed!!

  2. James says:

    Thanks for sharing these amazing morsels…I really like several of them…Mark Jenkins, Proust, Maya Angelou…it’s hard to pick a favorite.
    Learning to just sit with it and let it be… that’s always the challenge for me. Emotions are like weather patterns, I’ve heard….always changing, and beyond our control to influence them. Be present and listen, dear one.

    • Christina says:

      Thank you, James! We’re on the same wavelength here! I’ve been writing for hours what you just wrote so succinctly! Your words and your presence warm my heart, dear one!

  3. Donna Ingenito says:

    Maybe it’s time for you to read Art of the Pilgrimage again? Or at least the part you posted to your blog when you were getting ready to embark on this amazing journey? Just remember that everything is OK, will continue to be OK, and everything is exactly as it is supposed to be. Be kind to yourself. This too shall pass and you’ll find yourself trying to remember exactly why you were in a funk. Hope it helps to know that you are loved deeply
    xoxoxo

    • Christina says:

      Some more good reminders – thanks for them, especially since they echo, almost the exact words I chose in my ‘Blue’ post!

      Loving you deeply, too!
      xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

